English 100 Journal #1

 

After surviving week 2 of Professor Wilson’s English 100 class, my uneasiness of having a disadvantage in learning the Languages Arts is diminishing. Last Tuesday, September 13th, we discussed about deciphering poems. He tackled the poem She Walk in Beauty by Lord Byron. After the class finished reading the poem, he started asking questions about the poem’s meaning. Then, he gave his own interpretation of the poem which left the whole class baffled because he started speaking about combines and the beautiful prairies. In the midst of the confusion, he supported his interpretation with the lines used from the poem. I was like: wow, he’s good, really good. He also reminded us that we need to “support our opinion”, which I find very interesting because one of my teachers in high school said that you “need to have a PH.D” for your opinions to count, supported or not. Poetry interpretation has always been an ongoing struggle for me due to the fact that English is not my first language and I am still learning its fundamentals and theories. Yes I can be called handicapped or crippled when it comes to learning English, but I am not the person who gives up easily. I have finished obstacles harder than this one, and there are tougher challenges that await me.

The following meeting, September 15th, we tackled on pre-writing strategies, in which we were told to read Fit to Print  and Pattterns for Purpose respectively. Honestly, reading the books was a little “dry” to me due to the fact that I am not used to self-studying methods that university students often venture on and I usually prefer listening in class instead of reading tons of techniques and strategies that does not make sense to me at all. I wanted to raise questions on how pre-writing can executed properly, but he solve it right away before I could even raise the question. He discussed the dos and don’ts of pre-writing which I find very useful. Furthermore, I found that writing strategies that I usually use has some holes and some sentences do not  have any connection to the essays at all which led to my teachers giving out questions marks on some sentences on my essays whenever I submit one. One thing I found new on this lecture was the Free writing, a method in which the writer writes and writes everything that comes in his/her on paper until he/she runs out of ideas, and the “real” ideas come out. I find this method to be very fascinating because I have never tried this before. Then, he started discussing about the three kinds of essays namely Personal, Persuasive, and Informative essay. I usually could not distinguish the difference between informative and persuasive due to the fact that both types of essays are very similar in nature. Writing has always been my weakness and it no matter how much I try to write, edit, and re-write, I often get lower marks than my target mark should be. I often work hard and it takes a lot of time for me to finish a high school essay. I think that I should spend more time expounding on my understanding of the Language Arts and get help if I could or even read and decipher the books that was provided for this class. I have just to try and try until I have it mastered. I just have to resort to my diligence because I do not have talent on writing.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Daily Dose, English 100 Journals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

