UofR Response

 

The UofR requires its applicants to make a response as a part of the application to be accepted on UofR. I always wanted to share this in the hopes that it would give an idea for those who are applying in the UofR or other universities that requires you to make a response. Note: I’m not entirely sure if this response contributed to my acceptance to UofR.

There are only two experiences in my life that made me to consider teaching as a career. My experiences with my Teacher Rene Guevarra and migrating here in North America.

 

First. Mr. Rene Guevarra. Mr. Rene Guevarra was a Highschool Math teacher at Proverbsville School Inc. In the Philippines. He is graduate of Accounting and pursued Education a few years later after realizing that Accounting was not his calling. He was my Math teacher for four years. He is not an ordinary teacher but rather an eccentric, flamboyant, smart, religious, and a loving teacher. He taught everything I needed to know in his Math classes. He encouraged and Inspired me despite the bullying that I suffered during those four years of highschool in the Philippines (2004-2008), and taught to manipulate math as if that it was an extension of my inner self. I wanted to teach because his passion for teaching was the whole definition of Altruism – the practice of unselfish concern for or devotion to the welfare of others. He did not know me, yet he refuse to let that social barrier be a hindrance for his teachings to reach my heart. Compassion, Dedication, and Unselfish Love. With these lessons that I had inherited from a my teacher, I will stop at nothing to fulfill my dreams and be successful in anything and everything that I will venture in my life.

 

Finally, North America. I arrived in Canada on July 10th of 2009. Everything was new to me. Here in Canada, I felt things that I have never felt before I came here like being the new kid, being alone, facing racism, the white desolation (Snow), learning another culture, and trying to fit in. Honestly, I overcame those barriers and difficulties in a few months due to strong Faith, drama, choir, being involve in SLC, doing good on my math classes and just being myself. I am aware that adjusting into something completely different is difficult, but I want to change that. I want to be a teacher because I believe that “everyone is equal and unique in diverse ways”- No barriers, no chains, and no shackles. Also, Now that I have seen The East and The West’s perspectives of the world, I am clearly enlightened to become a teacher and no one can stop me in achieving my goals because I have overcome hardships and problems before, and “If I want something, I make it happen” – Marcia Maclean.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Daily Dose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

