Work Experience 30 – My Final Assessment

 

Work experience 30 is like the high school version of the Field Experience on the ECS 100 class. I was placed on O.M. Irwin, and it was a very life-changing experience.

My name is Edgar Allan Dela Cruz and this is my report on work experience. I was placed on O.M Irwin middle school. Irwin is a public school under the Chinook school division whose goal is to give quality education to its students. Furthermore, the school aims to improve standards of education that will have a substantial impact to its students. This is my Final Assessment.

 

I chose this placement because of three things. First, my inability to drive prevented from having multiple workplaces which was also a benefit for me in the sense that I am not required to travel such distances to reach my workplace. Second, the moment that I realized that I was handling twelve and thirteen year-olds, I did not hesitate of choosing Irwin as a workplace. After seeing the student’s situations (Different learning curves, Immaturity, and lack of discipline), I contemplated and realized that I went through the same situation, but nobody corrected me and taught me proper etiquette. Then, I said to myself, now that I have opportunity, I shall seize the moment to rectify the wrongs that has been tormenting my soul for all life. To inspire, to motivate, to rectify – three words that wanted to burst out of my heart when I chose Irwin as a workplace. Third, I chose Irwin because I wanted to be a teacher. A teacher is a person who provides schooling for pupils and students. The role of teacher is often formal and ongoing, carried out by way of occupation or profession at a school or other place of formal education. However, I wanted to be teacher because I want to pass on the legacy of my former mentors to my future students. I want to tear down every barrier that hinders a student from learning. I believe that every student deserves the best that their respective teachers can offer. Also, I was fortunate enough to get a hold of the best teachers in the province right here in Swift Current, and my goal is reimburse my future students with all the wisdom and knowledge that I inherited from these magnificent edifices that is teachers that continuously respect and honor.

 

Irwin did not only meet my expectations, it’s exceeded them. Due to the rotation of classes every day, it gave a variety of activities and responsibilities that made my work experience such a memorable event in my life. I had different task everyday which ranges from tutoring math, to teaching individuals drama skills. Every day was a challenge that needs to be overcome, and I fought valiantly day by day to succeed and prevail. My expectations were excruciatingly high, but what I achieved was something more than I could have expected: Bonds! Bonds of everyone in Irwin including myself that will be treasured in the deepest fathoms of my soul for all eternity.

 

Throughout the duration of this course, I have learned a lot of skills from my Work Experience teacher, Mr. Biem. Mr. Biem has taught me the fundamentals and proper etiquette of being a teacher. His lessons ranged from Professionalism to Confidentiality. Furthermore, as I was learning under him, I learned that he has his own style of teaching and a different style of implanting discipline to his classes. I think that I am willing to take a different direction from what I have observed. That was also something that I learned, “Take another route”.

 

The program has helped me significantly. It gave me an idea of my career choice of being a teacher. Furthermore, it showed me a new perspective in life or should I rephrase as “You’re not in school anymore”. This program has led to my final decision of being a teacher in the near future. I will do my best to deliver “Whatever it takes”.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Daily Dose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

