Shadowing Someone Episode 2: “The Teachers”

 

For me my second week at Vanier was more interesting than my first week. This week, I got to work with teachers on room AE-8. Room AE-8 is a room for students ranging from 5-10 years old. The teacher ages where ranging from 23-50(assuming), and all of them are well-trained and well organized in what they do. As a school for special needs, Vanier functions more like a nursing home for students so some of them have medical experience and not considered teachers. However, ¾ of the staff at Vanier have education degrees and also have medical experience ranging from basic to advance semi-nursing aide experience. The teachers functions as “guide by the side” due to most students’ disabilities that prevents them from learning and functioning as “students”. Vanier’s teacher’s adjust and re-evaluates the situation to cope up with the challenges that their students have to improve their service to the students. The Life of a teacher in Vanier is more like a nurse or a caring mother. The hidden curriculum in the Vanier is Altruism. The hidden curriculum of the school was something that I notice when I started getting my hands on the field of their work as teacher/nursing-aides. I personally think that they were not directly instructed to care, and what I sensed in those teachers were warmth, love, and care. It completely threw me out of balance because this was a very life-changing perspective where my “philosophy of education” falls pale in comparison to the resolve that these teachers have. I don’t even see the difference between the teachers and the nursing-aides anymore due to the hidden curriculum. “What are my teachers like in my school?” The role, responsibilities, function, and behaviour of the teacher are completely different because Vanier is not your typical school. Teaching is less implicated in this school because their students’ learning disabilities instead, Teachers focus more on the well being of the students where they are taken care of properly. Furthermore, the teachers use basic teaching such as communication, arts and crafts, cooking, and storytelling which I would say to be very effective due to disabilities of the children.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Daily Dose, Shadowing Someone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

