Shadowing Someone Episode 4 “Observing Diversity”

Image Detail

        My Fourth week in Vanier is about observing diversity. Here’s one branch of diversity called Workplace Diversity; refers to the differences that people bring to their jobs on the basis of gender, age, race, ethnicity or professional background. There is not a lot of diversity on Jean Vanier.  Almost 100% of Vanier’s teachers are Canadian while out of Vanier’s 17 students, only 11% or two students are non-Canadian. Teachers in Vanier respect one another and disregard one’s gender, race, or sexual orientation. I think when I was doing my internship in Vanier; I was respected and was treated fairly. Why? Because I’m an Immigrant myself. I came from a country called the Philippines. I know some people would raise concerns about special treatment, and frankly, I personally don’t need it. I know my abilities and limitations. Furthermore, being not adept to a lesson, routine, or even a norm only means that there is a lot of room for improvement and learning. If you’re an immigrant like me, ignore the people whose cynical attempts are pathetically pulling you down. The only downside of not having a diverse roster in the teachers of Vanier is the lack of new perspectives. People coming from different parts of the world have different life condition, life styles, and standards of living. Furthermore, they have different standards of education that has a substantial impact on what knowledge they have acquired on their respective country. Schools that focus on special education like Vanier, Diversity is not much of a problem. When handling the students, it’s the same because some of them have the same seizures, and disabilities. If communicating diversely is problem, in Vanier it’s not. 10% of Vanier’s students are the only ones who can communicate by means of speech and most of their students use special communicative devices such as buzzers, stickers, and computers. The two students or the 11% are unable to speak if one would to ask. I personally think that when I was interning at Vanier and experiencing the teacher’s lives added a little diversity in the roster due to my immigrant status. I was exchanging perspectives one time with the principal and found out that we had a huge difference when it comes to disciplinary action and implementation. I was shocked how our perspectives differ from one another and I think with that difference adds variety to the working environment that could bring a substantial change to student-teacher development. As for students diverse, I think it creates a competitive atmosphere that gives opportunity for everyone to improve and to reassess their skills as students.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Daily Dose, Shadowing Someone and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

