Shadowing Someone Season Finale “The Final Reflection”

 

 

My Final Week at Vanier is to look back and reflect in this journey of interning. What really stood out? What experience was really memorable? I was also instructed to focus on the power of influence in the school. In this journey, there are two most powerful influences on Jean Vanier: Faith & Caring. Although most students lack the understanding, Vanier integrates Faith in the curriculum. Mandatory or not, Christian or not, Vanier integrates faith in everyday activities in cooking, arts and crafts, singing, storytelling. I know that its mandatory but, how Vanier does it; Integrates faith with TLC or Tender loving care makes it something very unique. I’m a Christian and being in Vanier, I see Altruistic actions and professionalism found on Biblical allegories, parables, and chapters. I was stunned that such a magnificent edifice is here on the city of the queen (Regina). Throughout my life I was searching for a place to belong. A cartoon character named Jiraiya once said; “They say wherever someone is still thinking of you, that place is your home”. Why did I mention this statement? I mentioned it because this is what Vanier is it’s not just an institution to teach disabled, it is a home open for everyone who seeks one. There were a lot of memorable events such as screaming and feeding a disabled kid and see’s her happy with her every bite ‘because she can’t hold it on her own is something that really touched my heart. I want to help them and if possible, cure of them of their abnormality that’s plaguing the world as we know it. If only there was a cure……. Seeing these students in Vanier made me realize that I need to be more aware of my surroundings and the people around me. There are a lot of disabilities that hinders our current society from evolving to the next stage of improvement. Some of the disabilities are present in the students of Vanier such as down syndrome, muteness, autism, mental diseases, and retardation. But what does Vanier do that has an impact with these students? CARING. I was surprise to see people actually concern about their students. Quite frankly, a lot of teachers don’t even care if their students pass or fail. Some of them wanted a quick escape from hard labour and went to education and pretentiously teach. It makes my bile go inside-out when I see such people who choose the “easy way” and not fulfill their duties and responsibilities.  Being in Vanier was a complete breath of fresh air. I am truly devastated on how society treats people with disabilities, and how there is such a huge inequality in this planet. I only live once. With all the knowledge that I have so far and having 20 years worth of experience as a human being, I will do my best to end at least one world problem whether its global illiteracy, hunger, poverty, or even “the ignorance of people” that’s preventing us to be unified. If these are even possible of achieving, I will do my best to achieve them.
.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Daily Dose, Shadowing Someone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

